Handmade Slippers

Handmade slippers

I decided to make slippers for my husband for Christmas. Since I’ve never made any kind of footwear before, it was a bit of an adventure/challenge.

I searched and searched for posts on how to make slippers or for a good men’s slipper pattern online, but I just couldn’t seem to find good instructions for exactly what I wanted. I finally came across these wordless image instructions here.

 

DSC_0319
(Slipper pieces, one side with iron-on interfacing)

 

I started by tracing a flip-flop and set to work making my pattern pieces. I needed two basic shapes in two contrasting colors. I used an iron-on interfacing on the pieces that would serve as the outside of the slippers and a thick pellon and quilt batting in the bottom of the slipper for a soft sole.

The cutting was pretty straightforward, but as I began to put the slippers together, I realized they were sized for monster feet! I ended up wrapping partially-made slippers and having my husband try them on before finishing.

I used a blanket stitch to sew the slippers together. (Here’s a great demonstration if you don’t know how: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXkSE2TTF4s)

In the end, there still a bit wide, but they work relatively well.

In the future, I’ll be sure to measure by foot size not flip-flop size!

Men's slippers

Leave a Reply

