The Non-vegetarian Egg Roll

Egg Rolls

A few weeks ago I made egg rolls for the first time.  (Read about that here.)

I used a vegetarian egg roll recipe I found on the Food Network. They turned out pretty good, but I was left with quite a few left over egg roll wrappers.

In order not to waste them, I thought I’d try again — this time with meat.

Pork and vegetables

I used the same egg roll recipe, but I added ground pork to the mix. I started with the ground pork (seasoned with garlic), and when it was mostly cooked, I threw the shredded cabbage, carrot and snow peas into the pan. Since there was a lot more substance to the mix, I upped the amount of soy sauce and corn starch. (The recipe calls for 1/4 cup of soy sauce and 1 tablespoon of corn starch, which you mix together and add to the vegetables just before putting them in the wrappers.)

Uncooked egg rolls

I have to say I enjoyed them even more this time with the pork. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

