On the Side

Fried Chicken Dinner

Served alongside yesterday’s Panko fried chicken were mashed potatoes, Brussels sprouts and cucumbers.

Side Dishes

Mashed Potatoes:

Of course, mashed potatoes are a pretty simple endeavor, but following a tip from my mother-in-law, I added sour cream to the mix along with milk, butter, salt and pepper.

Cucumbers:

For the cucumbers, I dissolved sugar into white vinegar and then sliced the cucumbers and let them soak in the mixture. They are best if soaked for about 24 hours. (This summer side is something my husband taught me.)

Brussels Sprouts:

This was my first try with Brussels sprouts, and I think I’ll experiment with them a little more in the future. I simply boiled the sprouts, cooked some bacon and chopped it up, put it all in a bowl and added a little butter. They were alright, but I think they were still missing something… If anyone has suggestions, feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

