The Fried Chicken Experiment: An Ode to Crisco and Panko Bread Crumbs

Fried Chicken Dinner

As you all know, I am not a professional chef, but I do enjoy playing in my own kitchen at home.

While Panko crusted chicken may be a tried and true method for homemade fried chicken, I myself had never tried it, so I set out to create an American classic – fried chicken with Panko bread crumbs. Just as expected, they turned out delicious, and as an added bonus, they were simple to make!

Pank Bread Crumbs

Here’s what you need:

  • Chicken
  • Flour
  • Egg
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crisco

(The box calls for butter or oil, but Crisco does very well. If you’ve read or seen The Help, maybe you remember Minnie explaining the wonders of Crisco and all its many uses. After that, how could I use anything else?)

Set out two plates and one shallow bowl. Beat the egg in the shallow bowl. Pour some flower onto one of the plates. Mix in a little salt and pepper. Pour some bread crumbs on the second plate.

Heat a couple tablespoons of Crisco in a non-stick frying pan.

Cover the chicken breast in flower, egg, then bread crumbs and place it in the frying pan. Cook on medium heat about five minutes on each side. (I cut the chicken breasts in half before I start.)

Fried Chicken

(More to come on the side items I served with this dinner. I tried making Brussels Sprouts, but they could use a little improvement.)

Leave a Reply

