A Blank Canvas

Two Friday’s ago, I posted some photos I was considering for inspiration for a new painting. I have blank canvases waiting for color, and paint waiting to be freed from their containers and transformed into a new image.

Image

I decided on this one. I like the colors, the composition and the almost waxy quality of the flower petals in this one.

First step, a rough sketch:

Image

I transformed my sewing table into a painting table.Image

Now, to start painting… I start with the background, a nice dark color so the flower stands out.

Image

Now, I’m all ready to start with the real color!

Leave a Reply

